Lemon Loaf Cake


This cake is like a light lemony pound cake. It came together easily with a whisk — no mixer or beaters to mess with.

While the recipe called for the zest of 3 large lemons, large is somewhat open to interpretation. I used what I thought were large lemons, but I would add more zest next time. More lemony is better!

Directions were to bake 50 – 60 minutes, but mine took 10 minutes or so longer. I started to get nervous since the cake browned and crowned, but was still pretty wet in the middle. I managed to pull it from the oven without burning it, fully cooked in the middle.

The end result for me is a tasty and dense, but slightly too dry cake. I look forward to see how other Tuesdays with Dorie bakers’ experiences were similar or different from mine.

For the complete recipe, visit hosts Truc at http://www.treats-sf.com/ or Michelle at http://www.ladystiles.blogspot.com/

7 responses to “Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. Teresa

    We ended up putting foil around the edges near the end of the baking time, to make sure they didn’t overbrown. We didn’t find ours too dry, but enjoyed it best toasted with a dollop of lemon curd.

  2. I think this is one of those cakes that is best served by having some type of glaze or other companion with it.

  3. cookingjulia

    I had a similar reaction to you. At least it came together quickly.

  4. I do wish recipes would call for a measured or weighted amount of an ingredient. My lemons must not have been large enough for the lemon taste was barely noticeable in my loaf.

Leave a Reply

